Hand rearing conures
Talk Parrots Forums

Go Back   Talk Parrots Forums > Talk Parrots > Parrot Breeding, Chick Raising, and Parrot Handfeeding

Discuss

Hand rearing conures

in the

Parrot Breeding, Chick Raising, and Parrot Handfeeding

section at TalkParrots.

Notices

Old 12-03-2009, 01:53 AM
Ella

Exclamation Hand rearing conures

Tomorrow I will be getting my MB conure, and the breeder recently () informed me that the baby wasn't yet weaned fully.

The bird is 8 weeks old, so pretty much fully hand raised, but still learning to crack seeds.
The breeder said it would only take about 7-10 days, maybe more or less, to get him/her on to seed.

I have watched heaps of videos on you-tube and read a lot of info.

But I just wanted to know how often you would have to feed a conure at that age.

Also, any tips would be greatly appreciated because I'm relatively new to this kind of thing. I'm not inexperienced or anything, and I've seen it done many times and had a few goes myself, but never on my own bird.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-03-2009, 02:05 AM
chompie_puppy

The breeder will be able to tell you how often to feed the little guy.

I would think once in the morning and once before bed would be ok, but I'm not sure. It would be best to check with the breeder as he will know exactly how many feedings the Conure is on.

Remember that the temperature of the food is extremely important! Too hot and it will burn the crop, too cold and it will not be digested and could cause sour crop.

Good luck! Keep us posted!

Old 12-03-2009, 02:59 AM
Solace. (Renae)

Ask the breeder most definitely. I'm sure they'll tell you all about how the formula should be when made up, temperature and all that stuff, you just need to ask to be told.

I have an 11 week old Indian Ringneck who's on 2 hand-feedings a day right now, I got him when he was 8 weeks old and he was on 3 hand-feedings a day, he's only just recently gone down to 2 hand-feedings a day.