Parrot Forums - TalkParrots banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks. Kiwi and Kazi finally have 2 new babies (with 3 eggs left to hatch-not sure if they will). They are a week old now and the cutest, adorable little things with very loud little voices. She didn't eat her eggs this time. I threatened to give them away if she did it again and she must have heard me-lol. I want the babies to be tame. Should I hand raise them or just handle them often?

·
Registered
3,142 Posts
Congratulations!

I can't give any advice because I have no knowledge of that subject, but this sounds very exciting.

·
Registered
9 Posts
you dont have to hand feed them just handle them daily and dont forget to wash your hands before handling them

·
Registered
3,838 Posts
You can co-parent and have tame budgies, like Johnny said. Handle them regularly once they start to feather in and their eyes are open, around 1-2 weeks of age, and they'll do well :)

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks folks for all your great advice. Yippie! I'm soooo happy that I can tame them without hand feeding them. I have enough to do with my tiels right now. As soon as they're feathered I will send some pics.

·
Banned
435 Posts
Congrats !
I'd leave them with her to be fed and raised if all is going well and handle them regularly after them age of 10 days. They turn out to be pretty social butterflys this way.

My Piplup was raised this way till the parents started to kill her clutch mates so she was handraised.

But my other 3 budgies ( Chibi-Chibi , Mimzy and Mumble *RIP* ) were all store bought with no human contact and are just as tame as a hand raised.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thanks Stacey. I am picking them up a couple of times a day, but only for a few seconds as Kiwi looks for them and I'm afraid that she will cease feeding them if I keep them longer.

·
Registered
71 Posts